The Right Time To Walk Away

Question of the day: “When is the right time to walk away?

I have been dabbling on this question for months regarding my current job. Not only has there been mental challenges but spiritual challenges as well during my time of being at this company. I am a very level headed individual who evaluates all variables of the situation and analyzes each one before I make any moves.

 

 

My first impression of the company was very eye opening. It is a small business that had a total of 8 employees when I started last August. As a back story, I took a year off from working to get more involved in the community and to take initiative on prepping to become a full time missionary.

 

 

I had no idea that there was a raging atheist who belittles all human beings that crossed her path, waiting for me as I arrived. What made matters worse, was that the CEO(s) were very much aware of it and thought (still think) it is okay to have someone like that work for them. The same day I walked in that place and ever since; I was ritually told if I wore a “Jesus Loves Me” t-shirt or disclosed anything about Christ, that it would be offensive to “others”.

 

I didn’t even ask about the religious “rules” and “do not’s” of the company. The vile words that were being spilled upon me were extremely inappropriate and were personally offensive to me. In the same day, I witnessed this dehumanizing person talk down to a younger gentleman telling him that he was retarded, stupid, no good and was basically useless; not only in the job environment but in life altogether. This was not only daily, or weekly, but full time… non-stop. I’ve even witnessed her saying that she understands why parents drown their children. The list of the disgusting things that have been said could go on for days.

 

I got home that night wondering, “God, what did I get myself into? What type of company am I working for?


I know most corporations have the rule of “no religion in the workplace”. Mind you, this business is a “mom and pop” business. The CEO’s are a married couple who are in their 40s’; who also told me that they grew up in the church. When it comes to small businesses as such, they have the power to make their own rules and violations.

 

 

But for some reason if I ever wore a “I (no reference to you) am loved by Christ” shirt/pendant/etc… it would be “offensive”. There was only ONE person who openly disclosed how much they hated my Lord and Savior. This person kept mentioning how a shirt or any Christian paraphernalia would be offensive to her, but never considered that the vile things she said offended others as well. (double standards)

What is also crazIER about the situation is, this said person talks about going to church every other Sunday with her boyfriend. So you can tolerate hearing about Jesus at church but having a shirt that says “He loves ME” offends you?

WOW!

 

There is a lot more that has happened over the year that I have been apart of this business. I have witnessed the worst turnover rate ever while working here. The previous people that have left, personally contacted me after the fact, mentioning that they left because of this said person. Over 15 people have left within 6 months of this year. 9 of them were for the same position. That should say A LOT.

 

You guys… the moral of this post is I became so worn out. Day in and day out, my spirit was being “masked” while being in the office. My energy was depleted. I was becoming someone that God did not make me to be. I let people say horrible things about everything that I stand for. I have never been in a corporation that did not have a legit HR. HR is around for matters just like these and worse.

 

 

Over this year, I have personally sat my boss aside letting her know the damage it was doing to me and her company. Each time, my boss told me that she would do something about it and never did. One of the times, she even said that she heard me being verbally abused but did not want to “step on anyone’s toes”.
I know that there are many times that God keeps us somewhere for a reason. If it is to be a witness to someone or be a light altogether… it is for a purpose. I was learning to endure hardship… taking many mental notes. After constantly praying, listening and meditating… I knew it was officially the right time to walk away. I have learned all that I could from this place. Staying any longer would not be healthy. It is like being in an abusive relationship for so long, where you start to believe the lies that “it is all you are worth”.

 

 

WELP, yesterday I put my two weeks notice in!! I already feel so much better and relieved. I have enough money saved to cover months ahead for rent. I thank God for the courage to finally break loose. Hallelujah! 


2 thoughts on “The Right Time To Walk Away

  1. I am proud of you for enduring through this trial and I am happy for you being released from this prison. You were like Paul. You stayed in a prison, even when the door was opened, and praised God through it. You held on until God told you it was time to go. This experience will guide you throughout the journey God has set you on. Blessings be upon you. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment